Nikon Nikkor AF 50mm F1.8 D Reviews

P5,480 - P5,890 from 2 retailers
★★★★★ 4.5
Manufacturer: Nikon
X
 

A must have for your kit bag

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: They dont call these fast 50's for nothing. a very overlooked lens but when you use it right the results are amazing and you will end up using this more than all other lenses. great for outdoor shots and nice macro style close ups.just make sure you get UV filter to protect the lens.
Pros: Add Depth To Your Picture, Easy To Use, Great Resolution
Cons: Feels Slightly Cheap
7 years ago

Great lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I previously had a Sony alpha A mount camera and used minolta lenses. This 50mm (along with my new Nikon camera) blows my old gear out of the water. The images are clear and the bokeh is beautiful.
2 years ago

Dirts inside lense.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: there are two big black dots ( should be dirts) inside the lense. picture quality is good, hardware is garbage. Probably they sell the open box lense as brand new one. Never come back.
1 year ago

Perfect manual focus lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I bought this lens when I was just starting to figure out how to use my dslr, and it was not difficult to figure out. It is perfect for portraits and nature shots as well. It does not focus well on things less than 5 inches away. However, I believe you can shoot macro with it.
Pros: clarity, bokeh, focus
Cons: MF only
6 years ago

Difficult to get tact sharp with manual focus.

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Focusing on near things are easy to do but focusing a human body from a distance with manual focus is very difficult to do so. Once u get it, camera image quality is good, nice bookeh, cheapest too
4 years ago

Absolutely stunning lens.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Absolutely stunning little thing. Images are crisp & sharp. I\'m a self taught photographer & use this little beauty outdoors all the time & sometimes in my studio shoots. I can 100% recommend getting this lens, it\'s definitely one for the collection. I wouldn\'t ever go anywhere without it!
Pros: ,
6 years ago

Hard to beat for the $$

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this to get me started with my D610 a few months ago, and have been very impressed with most every shooting situation. In lower light it does hunt sometimes, and I kinda wish I would have sprung for the 1.4D or 1.4G, but I don't anticipate this being my most often used lens.
6 months ago

Great Lense for the price

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great lense for the price, it takes great shots but i am a little dissapointed that the AF feature does not synch with my camera. It is difficut to manually focus every time you move. This I do not like when trying to get children who move a lot.
Pros: Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons: Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
8 years ago

wouldn't autofocus at first.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Just got the lens today and right out of the box I couldn't get it to autofocus on my Nikon D7000. This lens seemed to be a very tight fit when I twisted it onto the camera body. I could manually focus the lens, but couldn't get it to autofocus.
Pros: Small and compact
Cons: Tight fit
5 years ago

Great results

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Good lens at the price. Works on both SLR and DSLRs. The lens is quite sharp at either end of the apertures. Needs to be handled carefully though because of its plastic built but that is something any camera user is accustomed to
5 years ago

Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This lens is a little gem! It's pretty soft wide open, but gets better quickly stopped down, and better means excellent here. This little 50mm lens is one of Nikon's sharpest lenses, though the AFS f/1.4 version might allow for a little more sharpness at f/1.8.
Pros: - *very* sharp stopped down (f/4) - inexpensive - small - lightweight
Cons: - soft wide open
1 year ago

Nikon 50 mm F/1.8d AF FS lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Compact size, good for indoor lighting. Use on Nikon D7000
Pros: Compact size, good for indoor lighting. Use on Nikon D7000
Cons: Auto focus is very slow
11 years ago

great value for the price

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: this was my first every prime lense I used along with my nikon D3300 and D7100. On my 3300 it would not auto focus but on the 7100 it does. other than that this took my amateur photography to a whole other level.
1 year ago

Unbelievably Sharp!!!

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It's amazing that one of Nikon's sharpest lenses ever is also one of its cheapest! You can pay three times as much for the 1.4D version, but you'd be very hard pressed to tell the difference between the final images.The only drawback to this lens is that it is very prone to lens flare.
Pros: Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Sharp, Strong Construction
Cons: Prone to lens flare
8 years ago

Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by mohawk51

★★★★★
Verdict: This one feels like it could break at any minute. I personally like the earlier version of this lens, the 50 F1.8 AIS (metal, not the pancake one). The one that focuses down to 0.45 I believe. I've had this version for some 20+ years. I'm not sure the 1.8D would last for 20 years.
Pros: None really come to mind
Cons: I've been spoiled by metal AIS lenses. Don't like the build of this one
7 years ago

Good lens wth shortcomings

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: The lens does not have an internal motor and so I had to focus manually. This resulted in more than 80% of shots being out of focus with an aperature setting of 4 or bigger. When I get the focus right however, the photos are stunning.
Pros: Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons: Hard to focus manualy
9 years ago

Very pleased with this lens.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Works perfectly on my Nikon D80 - the clarity of the pictures is amazing. I bought it to supplement a couple of zoom lenses that I have, and the lens quality appears higher with a fixed focus "standard" lens.
7 years ago

excellent lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros: Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons: Slow Focus
9 years ago

Does not AF (autofocus) with the D3000, D5000

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The AF only works with the DSLR cameras that have the autofocus motor within the camera body - if you are using a D3000, D5000, etc you need the AF-S. However this AF lens will focus with versions like the D7000 and others because they have the built-in focus drive motor.
7 years ago

fabulous

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: fabulous lens. you'll love it. i promise. i don't think it's left my camera body in 3 months.
Pros: clarity, sharpness, beautiful bokeh
Cons: obviously it's not a zoom so if you need zoom, it won't work for you
10 years ago

1.8 is Sweet

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Purchased this lens for use in low light situations, like inside restaurants and photographing food. It's on Ken Rockwell's top 10 Nikon lenses list. Have also used it for street photography. Nifty addition to my lens collection without breaking the bank. Lightweight!
2 years ago

Flawed Genius

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Perfect all rounder that's sharp corner to corner from f1.4 up and perfect for portraits on a DX body. Just let down by it's pedestrian and sometimes hesitant auto focus and its plastic body which I'd thought ought to be better on a lens that costs the thick end of £300 However I'd rather have...
Cons: Slow Focus
2 years ago

Nikon 50mm F1.8D AF Nikkor Lens: The Nifty Fifty - Every photographer should have one.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Everyone should have one of these.
Pros: Small, fast, light and super sharp. Very accurate AF and really cheap
Cons: Small form factor is not that impressive, takes non pro 52mm filters
8 years ago

Nikon Nikkor AF 50mm F1.8 D

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought the 50mm 1.8 for my Nikon D7000. Coming from my 18-200mm lens, this is Outstanding. It takes Crisp sharp Images even when the subject is in motion. I had been debating on this 1.8D vs the 1.8G (which is more expensive) and decided to give this a shot.
1 year ago

Not for everyone...

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I don't agree that this is a must have lens. If you own a DX camera like the D90 or D7000 then the 35mm f/1.8 DX is probably a better choice because of the effect of the cropped sensor on focal length which makes this lens a 75mm in the real world.
9 years ago

Great price great lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I love manual focus and its very very good for portraits. if you have children and want to take photos of them do not miss it. one of the must have lens.
7 years ago

Loving the sharpness

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It's hard getting used to a non-zoom lens again, I feel like it makes me concentrate on the entire process more. Love the lens, it's fast and sharp. And a crazy low price!
8 years ago

Nice Buy

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This lens is an amazing deal. A 50 mm focus , also gives an amazing picture and image quality. IT attracts pictures in low vision , this can give a good deal to all the photographers.
7 years ago

Huge surprise

★★★★★
Verdict: I purchased this lens for its low light ability compared to kit lenses and its affordable price. I was not expecting the huge jump in clarity and sharpness, or the instant focus ability, now I see why pros tout prime lenses. Very highly recommended.
5 years ago

Grymt!

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Helt klart ett objektiv som är användbart. Speciellt till porträtt bilder och det passar perfekt som första objektiv efter kitobjektivet. Den stora bländaren gör att du kan fota när det är mörkt vilket gör att du slipper brusiga bilder eller använda blixt.
Pros: Priset, helt klart, Den stora bländaren, Bildkvaliteten är fantastisk för priset, Fungerar både med DX och FX kameror, Litet och smidigt
Cons: Finns inte mycket negativt men 50mm blir 75mm på DX så det passar inte så bra i alla sammanhang, Det är ett manuellt objektiv, kräver därför en kamera med motor om man vill ha autofokus
9 years ago

Superb value for a very capable lens.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have been pleasantly surprised at the quality of images I consistently get from this little lens. For the price, there isn't much to complain about. No, it's not the sharpest lens in the world when shooting it wide open - nor will it produce the best bokeh at that range - but stopped down to...
6 years ago

Great low-light lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This lens is a great combination for any camera. If you are taking pictures indoor and want to use the ambient light then a prime lens is a must. The large aperture of 1.8 provides excellent background blurring.
Pros: Small and lightweight
Cons: Plastic body
11 years ago

Fast and cheap prime lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Really fast lens with manual aperture control that takes really great photos indoors using ambient light without the need for a flash. The lens itself looks well made and is very compact.
6 years ago

It is the lense I needed.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Good quality and price.
1 year ago

Great Nifty Fifty

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Make sure your camera has an AF motor built in (higher end Nikons, such as D7000, D7100, any FX camera) otherwise the lens will be completely manual. Also remember if you have a DX sensor, your lens won't be f/1.8 @ 50mm, but something like f/2.7 @ 75mm.
Pros: Very fast lens Bokeh is great Very inexpensive Works on FX and DX sensors Fast focus
Cons: No internal AF motor, so you need a camera that has a AF motor or be okay with manual focus Does not come with lens hood Focusing is loud
6 years ago

Nikkor AF 50mm f1.8D

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Not as good as AFS 50mm F1.8G for regular photography, slower focus, but manual control over aperature works better for video recording since it can be done on the fly. Optional reverse mount works for Macro photography. Impossible to turn down when on sale!
7 years ago

Nikon Nikkor AF 50mm F1.8 D

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Probably the single best prime lens you can start with. For the price (~$150), you won't find any other lens that's as good, nor as versatile. I now have a 50mm f/1.4, but until then, this f/1.8 lens was my go-to for most occasions.
8 years ago

Love this lens!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens as I wanted a good low light lens but this lens is a great all round lens! Tack sharp, fast, great in low light, light weight, makes a great portrait lens & has nice bokeh
6 years ago

Great Lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Nice lil lens for the money. But it doesn't work in Auto Focus with my D40 or my D5000. It works in maunal though and great crisp photos are a plus.
8 years ago

Surprisingly Crisp

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This lens is really suited for nearly any activity. Indoor, low light shooting, weddings and special events, landscape and wildlife, night shooting with long exposures, and with the reversing ring it becomes an amazing macro lens.
7 years ago

Probably the best value for money lens you can own

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is an excellent lens. Its lightweight, produces beautifully sharp images and is fast enough to extend the available light before you need to resort to a flash. The relatively wide aperture (compared with a zoom lens) produces a nice bokeh and at around $180 it makes no sense not to have one.
Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
5 years ago

A classic lens for people who want the classic '80s SLR feel when shooting

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: First off, please do note that this is an AF-D lens, which means it auto-focuses on Nikon DSLRs with a screw mount (D7xxx series and all full frame Nikon DSLRs). Having said that, this lens is a must for anyone who wants the 'old-school' feel- to use the aperture ring on the lens itself.
2 years ago

Nikon Nikkor AF 50mm F1.8 D

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I had a D80 with 18-135 and 70-300 VR. I bought this lens to use mostly in museums where flash is not allowed also to use it with Nikon CLS system with my SD600 flash. I also own older lenses and Nikon bodies. I used 50 f/2 AI and 50 f/1.4 AI on my D80 before.
Pros: This is a very sharp lens even at f/1.8. At f/1.8 the DOF is very shallow so nailing the focus is very important. In my opinion some of the complaints of softness come from the unfocused results. It is hard to focus in dim places and at night inside homes.
Cons: It is very weakly built. It gives a lot of resistance when screwing the lens compared to smooth operation of 18-135 or 70-300VR
11 years ago

Camera Lense

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Takes sharp beautiful pictures. I'm in the learning stages of using this lens but so for I am very well pleased with the product.
5 years ago

"Hot spot" aberrations at apertures lower than f/11 - please, please, do not purchase this lens. Research it first.

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: When a customer purchases a lens from Nikon, it is generally assumed that the product will meet the highest standards of quality and dependability. This is why I was so surprised to discover a "purple spot", or "pale blue dot" visible at lower apertures on the AF Nikkor 50 mm 1.8...
5 years ago

Nikon Nikkor AF 50mm F1.8 D

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Amazing lens, specially when f1.8 shallow DOF. pictures are really sharp. Really good for portrait photography and the same time low light conditions. Cheap but best lens, love this.
Pros: Great lens worth for money
Cons: Nothing
4 years ago

Great Quality

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Although I am a complete amateur, this lens is very easy to use. I was looking for a good portrait lens that would allow good light in those low light situations that you didn't want to use a flash. This was exactly what I was looking for.
6 years ago

"Great DX portrait lens, if a touch outdated"

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: "The good: Optically excellent in all respects. Makes a nice close portrait lens on DX. Build quality is decent, although not up to the standards of Canon's L or Nikon's older manual versions. The bad: Focus gearing is a bit on the slow side for such a small lens (~4 turns for macro to infinity).
8 years ago

A photo journalist's best companion

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Not all the time a photo journalist can use the flash on the camera to click pictures. Certain pictures have to be clicked without anyone noticing it. This is where the Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8 D Lens comes into play.
6 years ago

Nice lens to buy

★★★★★
Verdict: with Warranty from croma, its trusted service.
5 years ago
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare prices and buy online from Philippines shops.

X