Canon EOS M3 Reviews

Canon EOS M3
From 0 retailers
Expert Reviews: 
 3.8
User Reviews: 
 4.6
Features
Image quality
 4.7
 
 
Verdict: Don't let its compact size deceive–the EOS M3 is a fast and powerful camera. The EOS M3 captures images at up to 4.2 frames per second, even full-resolution RAW files! From still life to action photography and everywhere in between, the EOS M is ready to go.
7 months ago
Roberts Camera
 

Canon EOS M3

 
4.5
Pros: DSLR image quality & resolution in a mirrorless body; Higher-res 24MP APS-C sensor; Much improved AF performance; Better ergonomics with full PASM dial; Built-in Wi-Fi & NFC; Tilting LCD
Cons: No built-in EVF; Limited native lens selection; Slow burst mode; Shallow buffer depth with RAW files; No 60p video frame rate or 4K video option
Verdict: The Canon EOS M3 brings significant and welcomed improvements over the original EOS M model. There's a better sensor, better AF performance and better ergonomics to suit the more advanced photographer.
1 year ago
imaging-resource.com
 

Canon EOS M3 Review

 
3.0
Pros: Good RAW image quality, Improved autofocus performance, Great build quality, Compatible with Canon DSLR lenses (via adapter
Cons: Video is limited to 1080/30p, JPEG image quality isn't great, Stronger competing models exist
Verdict: Canon's M3 can't outperform its mirrorless peers, but the price is right.
1 year ago
Digitaltrends
 
 
3.8
Verdict: While most camera manufacturers have been making a lot of noise about their mirrorless offerings, Canon has been quietly selling a couple models of their own. Their most ambitious model as so far is the EOS M3, which brings many of the features of the Rebel T6s (760D) and puts them into a...
2 years ago
DP Review
 
 
3.4
Verdict: When will Canon get mirrorless right?
2 years ago
printerinfo.com
 

Canon EOS M3

 
3.4
Pros: Compact size, Good image stabilisation, Easy to use, Good touchscreen, Easy WiFi setup and connect
Cons: Slow focussing, Below-par low light performance, Limited dynamic range, Lacklustre build, Weighs heavier than comparison
Verdict: The Canon EOS M3 brings a compact form-factor into the interchangeable lens category, along with decent daylight imaging. However, its low-light performance is below par, it has a limited dynamic range, renders high noise in ISO settings of 1000 and above, and is too heavy to justify itself as the...
2 years ago
Digit
 
Pros: Excellent image quality in all shooting modes at lower ISO settings, Dedicated Video Capture Button is always ready to record, Camera is compact and easy to wield, Good performance, Hybrid AF system is very fast, Large 3.0-inch high res LCD screen, Touch screen is easy to use for menus and...
Cons: No electronic viewfinder to shoot like a dLSR included (optional accessory, No built-in image stabilization system, requires IS built into lenses, Lots of image noise in medium and high ISO images, Rather small selection of M-Mount lenses (with adapter can use all EF lenses, Below average battery...
Verdict: Canon's EOS M3 is a compact interchangeable lens camera sporting their less-popular M-Mount system. Without an internal mirror, the smaller camera body and smaller mount give you all of the benefits of a dSLR without the large size.
2 years ago
Steve's Digicams
 

Canon EOS M3 Review

 
3.5
Pros: Solid image quality, Compact and comfortable design, Adjustable-angle touch-screen LCD, Wi-Fi/NFC
Cons: Sluggish performance, EVF (electronic viewfinder) is optional, Limited (but growing) dedicated EF-M lens selection
Verdict: There's no doubt that the Canon EOS M3 is a major improvement over its previous generation of mirrorless cameras. With a wealth of external controls, excellent image quality and a slightly larger selection of lenses, the M3 has a lot to offer.
3 years ago
Tom's Guide
 

Canon EOS M3

 
3.0
Pros: Sturdy, compact body. Tilting rear touch display. In-body flash. Wi-Fi with NFC. Mounts Canon SLR lenses via adapter
Cons: EVF is an expensive add-on. Slow autofocus. Limited shooting buffer. Cramped controls
Verdict: Canon's first mirrorless camera, the EOS M , debuted to little enthusiasm or praise. Lack of autofocus speed-one of Canon's big strengths in the SLR world-had a lot to do with that. The company stepped out of the U.S.
3 years ago
PC Magazine
 

Goondu review: Canon EOS M3

Verdict: With its focus on digital SLRs, Canon has been slower than its rivals in coming up with a solid mirrorless camera to fill a growing gap in the market. There's a reason – Canon has produced more than 110 million interchangeable EF Lenses used with its EOS DSLR cameras.
3 years ago
techgoondu.com
 
 
4.0
Verdict: Canon was late to the CSC party, launching the original EOS M in 2012 and following up with the (Japan-only) EOS M2 in 2013. So, for UK shooters, the EOS M3 is the true successor to the original and is competing in a busy sector, occupied by many other brands.
3 years ago
Photo answers
 

* Canon EOS M3

Verdict: Is the Canon EOS M3 Mirrorless Interchangeable Lens Camera right for you? Learn all you need to know about the Canon EOS M3 at The-Digital-Picture.com!
3 years ago
The Digital Picture
 
Verdict: Because the ageing EOS M is nearly three years old, the arrival of the EOS M3 needed to deliver a knockout blow. While the handling and ease of use are certainly there, the autofocus, while much improved, could still be faster.
3 years ago
practicalphotography.com
 

Canon EOS M3 review - hands on

Verdict: That's essentially on par with some of Canon's entry-level digital SLRs, and the refined design means controls and usability give the larger cameras a run for their money too. A chunky grip on one side gives you something to hold onto firmly while still putting the important controls within easy...
3 years ago
expertreviews.co.uk
 

A highly capable mirrorless camera that can work with regular DSLR lenses (via an adapter)

 
4.2
Pros: Picture clarity and colours, Useful live view and great screen, Intuitive controls and fun to use
Cons: Handgrip is shallow, Dials hard to move
Verdict: It's not often one thinks of Canon when considering mirrorless cameras, but the company's EOS M3 is a worthy contender against the likes of Olympus, Panasonic, Samsung, and Sony, which are perhaps the ‘go to' brands for this category.
3 years ago
review.goodgearguide.com.au
 

Very usuful second camera for advanced amateur

 
3.5
Pros: Small size, quality of photos, avability of designated lenses and Canon EOS lenses
Cons: Slow autofocus, not a full frame sensor
Verdict: I had bought Canon EOS M 2 from Japan, as I wouldn't accept Canon EOS M, than when M 3 had arrived I had bought it from Japan, also.
3 years ago
CNET
 

Canon EOS M3

 
4.0
Verdict: The EOS M3 is the third compact system camera from Canon. The EOS M3 has an 24.2 megapixel APS-C CMOS sensor, DIGIC 6 processor, a touch-screen interface, Hybrid CMOS AF III and 49-point AF System, Full 1080p HD Movie mode, ISO 100-12800, a 3-inch 1,040,000-dot LCD monitor that tilts up 180 degrees...
3 years ago
PhotographyBLOG
 

Canon EOS M3 Review

 
4.5
Pros: Much improved focus speeds, Good image quality, Excellent colour saturation, Built in Wi-Fi and NFC, Good noise performance, Microphone socket, Good handgrip, Built in HDR, Dual-axis electronic level
Cons: Limited EOS-M lenses with 4 native lenses - an adapter for EF lenses is available, 4.2fps continous shooting isn't particularly quick compared to the competition, Short battery life, Panoramic mode not available, Small raw buffer
Verdict: The Canon EOS M3 is Canon's latest mirrorless compact system camera and features a new 24 megapixel APS-C sensor with Hybrid AF system. The camera features a tilting touch screen, plus built-in Wi-Fi and NFC connectivity. The Canon EOS M3 is available for £599 with 18-55mm IS kit lens.
3 years ago
ePHOTOzine
 

Canon EOS M3

Verdict: Canon is probably the most reluctant maker of mirrorless cameras. Its first mirrorless interchangeable lens model was launched in October 2012, several years after Olympus and Sony. The EOS M fared so poorly that its successor, EOS M2, never reached our shores.Now, the new EOS M3 is here.
3 years ago
digital.asiaone.com
 

Canon EOS M3 review

 
3.0
Verdict: Canon's first compact system or mirrorless system camera, the EOS M, seemed very good on paper, but at launch it was expensive and let down by a lacklustre autofocus system that was slow and prone to hunting.
3 years ago
TechRadar UK
 
 
3.0
Pros: 24Mp APS-C format sensor, Excellent interface, Plenty of control
Cons: Limited EF-M mount lens range, Frustrating autofocus system, No viewfinder built-in
Verdict: Canon's first compact system or mirrorless system camera, the EOS M, seemed very good on paper, but at launch it was expensive and let down by a lacklustre autofocus system that was slow and prone to hunting.
3 years ago
PhotoRadar
 

Canon EOS M3

 
3.5
Pros: Good handling and control, Well implemented touchscreen, Decent images
Cons: Relatively slow all-round performance, Disappointing dynamic range, Chunky kit lens, Limited lens selection
Verdict: The Canon EOS M3 is the third stab at a CSC from what is still probably the biggest name in cameras. It follows the 2012 Canon EOS M , a camera that did so badly Canon didn't even bother to release the follow-up M2 in the UK, Europe or US.
3 years ago
TrustedReviews
 

Canon EOS M3

 
4.2
Pros: Good quality images and low noise, Tilting touchscreen, Wifi with NFC for sharing and remote control, Mic input and confident focusing for movies
Cons: No built-in viewfinder, Servo AF slows burst shooting down, Poor battery life. Little warning before expiry, Very limited selection of native EF-M lenses, No panorama or timelapse facility built-in
Verdict: The EOS M3 is Canon's third mirrorless camera, following the M2 and the original M. Announced in February 2015 (13 months after the M2 and two and a half years after the original M) it joins the 750D / T6i and 760D / T6s DSLRs to become the first Canon cameras to employ a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor.
3 years ago
Camera Labs
 

Canon EOS M3 Review

 
4.4
Pros: Excellent design and user interface; Pleasing image quality; Huge improvement on predecessor
Cons: Focusing speed and continuous shooting still behind competition; Lacking built-in viewfinder; Poor kits lens
Verdict: Canon EOS M3 Review - The EOS M3 represents Canon's first real step in to the enthusiast CSC market, and looks set to shake it up. See how it gets on in our full Canon EOS M3 Review.
3 years ago
What Digital Camera
 

Canon EOS M3 Review – Hands-on First Look

 
4.0
Pros: Compact, portable design, Excellent controls and user interface, Impressive image quality
Cons: Relatively slow continuous shooting and focusing, No built-in viewfinder, Limited native lens range
Verdict: At a glance: Of all the major camera manufacturers, Canon has been by far the most reluctant player when it comes to compact system cameras. Not only was Canon one of the last to make a mirrorless camera at all, with the EOS M in mid-2012, but it has also shown little commitment to the system,...
3 years ago
Amateur Photographer
 

Canon EOS M3

 
4.4
Verdict: Canon's new EOS M3 is the third model in the company's CSC (compact system camera) line but only the second to be released in Australia. Following the lead of its predecessor, the new model uses the latest 24-megapixel sensor and DIGIC 6 processor, which are common to Canon's mid-range EOS DSLR...
3 years ago
PhotoReview
 

Hands-on: Canon EOS M3 review: Still behind the mirrorless market curve

Verdict: Canon makes great DSLR cameras, there's no doubt about that. But in 2012 when the company dipped into the mirrorless market with the EOS M, it was unusually behind the curve. The EOS M2 appeared in Asia to try and fill a gap, some firmware update appeared to try and better the poor autofocus, and...
3 years ago
Pocket Lint
 

Five Stars

 
5.0
Verdict: Recommended for the first time users! Love it!
6 months ago
amazon.com.au
 

Awesome camera

 
5.0
Verdict: this camera is light easy to store and just awesome
6 months ago
canon.com.au
 

neat camera!

 
5.0
Verdict: Nice sized camera, fits well in the hand without being fiddly. Good range of options for the controls plus easy to use menu. Instruction manual good but still trying all the variations!
10 months ago
johnlewis.com
 

Great travel camera

 
4.0
Verdict: Update: 17.3.2018 ...And then I used my good glass on this camera. Wow! It'll never win any prizes for speedy auto focus using the Canon branded adapter but the photos are superb with my Canon 24-105L and Sigma 18-70 combo, pin sharp and handheld too.
10 months ago
Amazon
 

Love my camera

 
5.0
Verdict: Love my camera, I got it on the Black Friday sale, paid the same price as a used one with body only!
11 months ago
amazon.ca
 

... how cheap my item was but I would totally recommend buying items from here

 
4.0
Verdict: I thought that this was a scam at first because of how cheap my item was but I would totally recommend buying items from here! My camera works perfectly!
1 year ago
Amazon
 

Eos m3 is a very compact camera

 
5.0
Verdict: EOS M3 has a professional like features, i have not use a mirrorless before but i find the image quality pretty awesome like a dslr.. only thing i wish they gave a free memory card with it..
1 year ago
Argos
 
 
4.0
Verdict: I am a professional photographer, and i use this camera when i`m traveling and can`t take my other gear with me. I mainly use it with the 22mm 2.0 STM, and only shoot in RAW You can realy shoot great pictures with it, believe me. Quality is also good for magazine prints. Excellent for landscaping !
1 year ago
dpreview.com
 

I love this camera

 
4.0
Verdict: I bought this camera as an easy to carry replacement for my 5D Mark III and I'm more than satisfied. I took it to Shanghai and have some great pictures. Still take a little getting use to and I needed the EVF-DC1 Electronic Viewfinder. Lots of control at your fingertips.
1 year ago
B&H Photo
 

CANON EOS M3 Compact System Camera with 15-45 mm f/3.5-6.3 Wide-angle Zoom Lens - Black

 
4.5
Pros: small with plenty of features
Cons: no view finder but is sold seperately
2 years ago
Currys
 
 
5.0
Verdict: The EOS M3 is well built with excellent image quality. It feels good in my hand. The EF-M adopter works well with my EF 700-200mm L F4 IS and EF 24-105mm L F4 lenses. Focusing is not a problem as some has described. I am looking forward to get the M 22mm F2.0 lens.
2 years ago
Adorama
 

A great little camera

 
5.0
Verdict: "I'm delighted with this camera. I wanted an alternative to my DSLR that was lighter and smaller, but still gave me high quality images, and let me shoot in RAW. I've taken several hundred photos so far with great results. Crisp images with excellent detail.
2 years ago
henrys.com
 

Canon EOS M3 Bundle

 
5.0
Pros: Easy to use Great picture quality Bundle includes everything I need except extra battery, which isn't available yet Selfie flip up screen Built-in pop-up flash easily resolves backlighting issue for faces
Cons: Screen exposed all the time Screen protector in bundle, isn't staying affixed as it should
Verdict: Great customer service Quick shipping
2 years ago
buydig.com
 

Beautiful!

 
5.0
Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient, Great on focusing
Cons: takes a few seconds to focus on something
Verdict: This was a Great product works well for Vlogging and short films, definitely reccomend!
2 years ago
cameta.com
 

Overall, very pleased.

 
4.0
Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Verdict: This is the first changeable lens camera I've owned and I'm looking forward to learning all that's involved. Although many of the functions are quite straight forward, I will still need to sit down with the manual to get the most out of the camera.
2 years ago
Teds
 

Much Better that the M but...

 
5.0
Verdict: I've owned Canon equipment since my first F-1 in 1973. I currently have a T2i and a 5D2 along with 7 L series zooms and assorted other Canon glass. I did't like the M at all. I wanted a lighter travel camera than what I currently owned. I bought the M3 18-55 kit, lens adapter an EVF.
2 years ago
Canon
 

"The best mirroless camera from canon"

 
3.0
Pros: good image quality, easy to use, suitable for selfie
Cons: slow autofocus speed, only able to take pictures of 4 photos per second
Verdict: Canon has released the latest camera Canon EOS M3. This camera manifold Mirrorless Interchangeable Lens Camera (MILC) who claimed to have a technology that is on par with entry-level DSLR cameras such as the Canon EOS 760D and EOS 750D are released today, but with a more streamlined shape.
2 years ago
Ciao
 

Great camera for travel

 
5.0
Pros: Small size, light weight with the familiar controls of a Canon DSLR
Cons: Battery is too small to last for a whole day of shooting. Definitely needs an extra battery. The controls can be slightly bigger or raised higher for better tactile feedback. Taking a still while shooting movie interrupts the movie sequence
Verdict: I bought this EOS M3 and the 11-22mm lens for my recent trip to Tibet and China. Took over 2500 pictures. I did not want to take my older Canon DSLR as it would be too heavy so this size was almost perfect for the trip. With the 11-22 mm lens, it was great for those landscape views.
3 years ago
Crutchfield
 

Canon EOS-M3

 
5.0
Pros: Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Lightweight, Simple Controls
Verdict: I only wish there was better choice of lens for this EOS-M3 meaning fast lens but still compact but I like the focus peaking it be nice have this focus peaking for the EOS 5D2
3 years ago
wexphotographic.com
Powered by TestFeaks